10 Lakshmi and Ganesh Transformation Names in Mythology

You are currently viewing 10 Lakshmi and Ganesh Transformation Names in Mythology

In ancient Indian history, the timeless tale of Lord Ganesha and Goddess Lakshmi has inspired countless devotees. While the primary form of these divine entities is well known, there are other transformation names, each with its own unique origin story. The Laxmi Ganesh Murti, a combination of Goddess Lakshmi and Lord Ganesha, is one such transformation that is frequently adored by devotees and represents prosperity and the removal of obstacles.

So, in this blog, we cover these unique transformation names of Lakshmi and Ganesh, along with their significance and origin stories.

8 Transformations of Goddess Lakshmi:

Often referred to as ‘Maaya’ (English meaning ‘illusion’), the mother Lakshmi represents beauty, wealth, power, fortune, fertility and prosperity as a whole, but she has taken multiple reincarnations to present most of these individually.

Adi Lakshmi:

Adi Lakshmi, also known as the Primeval Lakshmi, represents the original and fundamental form of Goddess Lakshmi. In Hindu mythology, Adi Lakshmi is believed to have emerged during the churning of the cosmic ocean (Samudra Manthan) when the Devas and Asuras sought the nectar of immortality (amrita). Adi Lakshmi is shown with four arms, including Abhaya Mudra and Varada Mudra.

Dhana Lakshmi:

Dhana Lakshmi is the goddess of material wealth and financial prosperity. Dhana Lakshmi is often depicted as emerging from a lotus flower, symbolizing her purity and the blossoming of wealth. Dhana Lakshmi is seen bestowing gold coins, representing her capacity to provide wealth and prosperity.

Dhanya Lakshmi:

Dhanya Lakshmi represents the goddess of agricultural wealth and food grains. She is venerated for the abundance of crops and nourishment. Dhanya Lakshmi is seen carrying a sheaf of grain, sugarcane, a jug of gold, fruits, vegetables, and a lotus in her arms. She is associated with the fertility of the land.

Gaja Lakshmi:

Gaja Lakshmi, or the Elephant Lakshmi, is revered for her association with power, royalty, and courage. Gaja Lakshmi is often depicted as being flanked by two elephants showering her with water, symbolizing the royal attributes of strength and grace.

Santana Lakshmi:

Santana Lakshmi is the goddess of progeny and fertility. Santana Lakshmi is seen holding two pots, which represent fertility and blessings for children. She is worshipped by those seeking the blessing of children and a happy family life.

Veera Lakshmi:

Veera Lakshmi is the embodiment of courage, valor, and bravery. It symbolizes the inner strength required to overcome challenges and obstacles. Veera Lakshmi is seen with eight arms, holding swords and shields, indicating her willingness to protect her worshippers. She is revered by warriors and those seeking strength in life.

Vidya Lakshmi:

Vidya Lakshmi is the goddess of knowledge and wisdom. Vidya Lakshmi has four arms and is clutching a rosary, a lotus, and, in some depictions, a book. Vidya Lakshmi is the source of divine knowledge and is believed to have emerged to impart wisdom and education to humankind.

Vijaya Lakshmi:

Vijaya Lakshmi, or the Goddess of Victory, blesses her devotees with success, triumph, and accomplishment in all their endeavors.  Her Abhaya Mudra is a gesture of bravery, while her Varana Mudra is a gesture of bestowing blessings.

8 Transformations of Lord Ganesha:

Popularly known as ‘Vighnaharta’, Lord Ganesha is the god of fresh beginnings. Placing Ganesh Idol in the home is revered as the remover of obstacles and the harbinger of good fortune. From time to time for mankind, here are eight distinct transformations of Lord Ganesha taken –


When the demon Matsarasur threatened to annihilate humankind after getting the blessing of being fearless, Lord Ganesha came riding a lion. In his incarnation as Vakratunda, he again felt fear in Matsarasur as an elephant-headed god sitting on a lion was beyond his imagination, forcing Matsarasur to surrender before Him.


Ekdanta means “One Tooth,” and the transformation incarnated while writing the Mahabharata with Vedvyas at an incredibly fast pace. Lord Ganesha broke a piece of the tusk and continued after his stylus was damaged.


On the advice of the Lord Sun, the gods prayed to Lord Ganesha. Then he transformed into Mahodara reincarnation and came forward to help the gods save them from a demon named ‘Mohasuru’.


Born from divine Kuber out of his greedy thoughts, Lobhasur takes down the Swarglok under the guidance of Sukracharya. After the prayers of other gods, Lord Ganesha reincarnated himself as Gajanan and kneeled down to Lobhasur.


Born from the anger of Lord Shiva, Krodhasur prayed to Lord Surya (Sun) to get power to dominate all three worlds. After other gods requests, Ganesha transformed himself into Lambodara, annihilated Krodhasur completely during the war with him, and established peace.


Born from Lord Vishnu’s lust thoughts, Kamasura worshiped Lord Shiva hard and gained power from his blessing. He then invaded Swargaloka, afraid that other gods prayed Ganesha in Mayuresa Kshetra. This time, after reincarnation in Vikata, Lord Ganesha sat on a peacock and defeated Kamasura.


Materialized after the laughter of Parvati, Mamasura was misled by demon Sambara and attacked in all three realms. Fearing that, other gods worshiped Ganesha. Ganesha sent a message to Mamasura to stop the violence, but he denied it. Later, Ganesha reincarnated as Vighnaraja and defeated him to establish peace.


In his eighth incarnation, Lord Ganesha assumed the form of Dhoomravarna, the diminutive mouse who led him to victory over Ahamtasur, the final demon in charge of the human psyche.

Why did Lakshmi & Ganesh Worship Together?

When you go to choose an idol for Diwali, you’ll find Laxmi Ganesh Murti togather in most cases. But why is this?

According to mythology, after Lord Vishnu’s comment on Lakshmi’s motherhood, she visited Parvati to share her sadness, and then Parvati gave Lord Ganesh to Goddess Lakshmi as her new son. Lakshmi became very happy and promised Parvati to share her every accomplishment with Ganesha. Since then, Laxmi Ganesh Murti is common for puja on any special occasion or event in Hinduism.


Although these transformation names are not common, most of the Lord Ganesh and Goddess Lakshmi reincarnation forms you may have seen in different Ganesh idol and Lakshmi images at home, in books, and in temples. Now you know that each of these reincarnations has its own story and significance in Hinduism. All they teach us is that challenges and blessings are intertwined, and in their embrace, we find the true essence of spiritual growth.

  • Post published:October 29, 2023
  • Post author:
  • Post category:Lifestyle

Leave a Reply